A Facebook cause I can get behind

22Mar09

Every time I log in to my Facebook page, I have a list of new causes that people have invited me to. Usually worthy, valid causes that most people would support.

Like cancer prevention. Stamping out child abuse. Supporting autism groups. Booting paedophiles off social networking sites.

I’m 100% behind them all, really. For some reason though, they’re still sitting in my notifications. Probably partly to do with the fact that I don’t really see what me joining the 1,501st group against cancer on Facebook will actually do. Maybe I’m so cynical from the numerous chain mails going around that I don’t really believe that getting the membership level to a certain number will result in a donation from someone.

I’d rather donate directly to charities and know they are getting the cash.

But today I noticed a cause I have no problem throwing my public support behind: “lets start a international piss up weekend”.

Not that I support binge drinking, but we’re all adults here. Count me in.



No Responses Yet to “A Facebook cause I can get behind”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment